top of page

An Important Message from Sabra


Dearest sisters, supporters, family, and friends:

It is with deep regret that I announce my departure from BWWE to be effective February 13, 2022. After seven years, it’s time for me to move forward. As you may know, this is the date that BWWE was founded, which from a spiritual sense the number seven signifies completeness. I feel that I have completed my work and I do not regret any of it; however, my mind, body, and spirit are in need of an overhaul and it's time to move forward.

I’ve been mulling at this decision for some time and have recently decided that it’s time to take care of myself as well as challenge myself in other ways.

Please know that I have thoroughly appreciated and enjoyed the opportunity to serve with you all to further the journey of widowhood for the Black widowed woman. I am proud of our collective achievements and the progress BWWE has made towards bringing awareness of a unique group of women to the masses.

I am hopeful that I have given sufficient advance notice so that BWWE can ensure a smooth transition for the next incoming Executive Director by Feb 13, 2022. (If interested in this role, email us stating your interest!)

As the search for future leaders takes place, BWWE is still in need of Board members and volunteers. I'm confident that the incoming leader(s) will move BWWE forward to an even greater organization.

In the meantime, I have included a few significant key milestones that were completed during my leadership.

A few key accomplishments include:

2018, Short Documentary with Dianah Kamande; Partnership with ComeTogether Widows and Orphans Partnership | Gender-Based Violence & Widowhood with Diana Kamande

2018, Partnered with Baltimore Cease-Fire

2018, Partnered with The Bounceback Project, The Hamm Alert Foundation, and Dr. Beverly Wallace, Author of African American Grief

2020, Development of a Black Women Widows Survey

2020, Held a Covid Zoom event featuring several Covid widows (this event enabled BWWE to be featured in The New York Times)

2020, Partnership with Share Charlotte

2021, Membership of over 1000 carefully screened Black women widows (this number is representative of all affiliated Facebook and Meetup groups)

Please check out our website for a plethora of events, podcasts, and conferences as well!

I will always champion the cause and remain available to the organization post-transition. I look forward to seeing your many accomplishments as you move forward as an empowered widow of color.

With much respect,

Sabra xoxo

Founder/Executive Director

***************

Comments? Email us and share how BWWE impacted you!

Want to donate? Donate here

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page